Pleasing God or Exciting the devil?

Ever had that moment where you are rejoicing about one thing and the next minute you’re down because of some bad news?

The good news made you realize that you have a Father who cares for you and is working out things for you. It made you realize you’re loved. It made you see that you are never alone. It made you that someone greater is fighting your battles for you.

The bad news, however, came and attempted to make you doubt all the good things showed you. it made feel alone, feel abandoned, feel sad and hurt.

Yeah, we have all had one of such moments or know someone who has.

Just yesterday, I experienced it!

One minute, I was rejoicing that God has come through for me, that He is my helper, that He’s got my back, that He keeps His promises.

The next minute, I was in bed crying because I got some bad news and began to think if God really has my back and keeps His promises. I began to doubt Him and think of all the times things has gone wrong in my life. I forgot about all the things He had done for me.

I felt the devil laughing at me. I couldn’t allow that. I couldn’t allow him triumph over me. I couldn’t let the sacrifice Jesus made on the cross go to waste. In that moment, I was strengthened. I began to think in all the good that has happened instead. I began to remind myself of all God’s promises He has fulfilled. I began to feed my doubt with some faith.


This taught me some valuable lessons:

1.       Your relationship with God cannot be based on feelings – feelings come and go. (Jeremiah 17:9; Ephesians 4:18)

2.       The devil gets excited when we feed our doubt with more doubt.

3.       The devil gets excited when we lose our hope and trust in God.

4.       God allows certain things to happen so we can have greater comebacks and testimonies. ( Jeremiah 29:11; Romans 8:28; James 1:2-3; Ecclesiastes 7:14)

5.       God is really with us always.( Joshua 1:5,9; Matthew 28:20; Revelation 21:3; Psalm 23:4; Zephaniah 3:17)

6.       When experiencing bad times, draw your strength from the good times made possible by God and His promises yet to be fulfilled.( Isaiah 41:10)

7.       We let the sacrifice on Calvary go waste when we begin to focus on the devil. (Colossians 2:14-15

8.       Living in the flesh makes us lose our focus on Jesus. Keep your focus on Jesus, live in the Spirit.( Galatians 5:24-25)

9.       Praising, having faith in God pleases God especially in our times of adversity. It kills the devil.

10.   Your trust and faith in God should not be based on seasons and circumstances. They should always be firmly rooted in His Word.

11.   God is always faithful. Don’t allow your doubt to block you from seeing it. (2 Timothy 2:13)


 Now, the choice is yours – Pleasing God or exciting the devil?

Always remember, IF HE DID IT BEFORE, HE CAN DO IT AGAIN.

Praise always confuses the enemy

Photo Credits: Google

2 thoughts on “Pleasing God or Exciting the devil?

Leave a Reply

